Pre-marathon Summer

#52toNYCmarathon
Week 37/52 recap

5.3 ez – 4.9 hills – 10 miles

This post is quite delayed because of the wonderful visit we had with Arron for a couple of weeks. It was great supporting Jim on his 14 miler last weekend and I ran a very nice 10 miles the next day. I set a personal course record for my local 10 mile route!

bking2A lot is coming together for me. My cross training and core work as well as PT has been going well. I have made reservations to take a Megabus to NYC the end of October and got the tickets for $1. I was also able to reserve a spot on what they call Marathon in a Motorcoach that will drive the marathon route. I scheduled it just before the expo opens at the Javits center so when I return I can pick up my race packet, bib, any light shopping, hug Bart Yasso and then I can chill until race day.

I do have to say that it has been just a hair frustrating balancing all of the other fun stuff that I like to do and keep up with my training. I haven’t been able to go letterboxing, hiking or any long trips. biking

What was nice was Arron accompanying me on my cross training days when I had to bike for a couple of hours. One location was our family’s favorite picnic spot that is 18 miles from our home. I never would have dreamed that I could bike there but, with Arron’s encouragement, we set out on a perfect day and got there in under 3 hours. Mom, Dad and Jim met us with picnic foods and I swear it was the best time we ever spent there.

It is a hard balance to train hard and still make time for the other priorities. I am making sacrifices (no mojitos, sangria, early bed times) and hope it all pays off in November.

Leave a Reply

