Hellbender Half Marathon Course +

Longest run ever, yesterday.

photo 3At Terri’s suggestion, I did a 1 mile warm up at the start of the trail, then did the Hellbender Half Marathon Course to familiarize myself with the terrain there. I had biked parts of it a few years ago, but needed a bit of mental reassurance for next month’s run.

Typically my runs start around 5:30 a.m., but I wanted to more closely mirror the start time so I left at close to 9:00 a.m. The temperature and humidity were almost ideal for mid-July.

Terri and Arron biked to meet me at the five hydration station stops and were excellent moral support for me along the beautiful course through Roaring Creek Valley. I could not accomplished this without them.

My fueling was slightly different. We ran out of the Perpetuem protein tablets, and they are on back-ordered through the company. So it is now mixing up a slurry using the Perpetuem powder. On long runs, I typically slowly chew-up three tablets between miles 6 and 8; for this run I slowly sipped the mixture between miles 7 and 9. I was concerned that I would feel bloated with this mixture on top of the water I was taking in, but that was not the case.

Overall, my energy level was good during the entire run today. I know what to expect along the course, and my fueling plan worked as I had hoped. After cleaning-up and stretching out, I felt good and we took in Knoebel’s for a bit; that way I would not be immediately sitting for over an hour on the drive home after today’s little victory.

When we did get home, I rolled out and took a soak in epsom salts for 20 minutes. This morning, my quads and knees feels just a little used, but as I am warming up today, I feel good and am looking forward to my shorter weekday runs.

14.04 miles, 2:20:13, 9:59 pace.

2 thoughts on “Hellbender Half Marathon Course +

  1. Pingback: Pre-marathon Summer | See Jain Run

Leave a Reply

