Details, Details, Details

TCSNYCM14_Course_Map_ForWeb#52toNYCmarathon
Week 31/52 recap

4.1 (included cadence check 196SPM) 43:06 – 5 with 10 sets of strides 48:33 – 8 mile tempo run 1:19:12
bike 2+ hours
PT/stretching/core

I have started studying the course of the NYC Marathon. I am reading about it, watching videos and noting stats that will help me train for it in a smart way.

Some folks might feel like I am overdoing it or obsessing about it. I am sure my studies cross the line sometimes but it helps to note things like the course’s elevation gain (885 ft) and loss (-844ft). That is mostly the 5 bridges with the biggest increases and decreases. The most significant (4% grades) being the very first 2 miles of the race on the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge. It is helpful in knowing that although my legs will feel fresh and ready to tackle that first mile to stay super chill then not let crazy loose on the downhill. There will be 24 more miles to tackle and I want to have energy to take on those ever familiar rolling hills in Central Park hours later. I want the information to train on my long runs that way; to start with a significant hill but hold myself back from taking it too fast.

I realized just yesterday that I will run by Brooklyn Academy of Music after about 8 miles. I have been there a couple of times when seeing Arron perform in American Ballet Theatre’s production of the The Nutcracker.

Watching the first video below, it is kind of neat seeing the landmarks and the elevation profile as the mile markers are noted.

I will also post updated information sometime in October for those who really want to help me out by lending support. There are ways that you can cheer for me, on and off of the course in NYC and I would really appreciate the boost. The video below describes one of the cool things they have set up for people who can’t be along the course or even if they can! Until I get more info like my bib number and the Support Your Marathoner Website is updated since the LA Marathon, here is a link to the current Spectator’s Guide to get a feel oof what it is like for folks in the city that day.

There have also been mobile apps that work on iPod Touch and iPads that I have had various success with in the past. Same with text alerts to track your favorite runners like, Track my Runner and Runner Tracking or similarly on the web with Track My Runner. Some have a nominal fee, others do not. They are not reliable enough for trying to meet up with a runner on the course but can be nice for those who can’t make it to the race but want to know how their runner(s) is/are doing. I hope to be able to give current and updated links to functioning services as the race gets closer.

I have already chosen not to do a gear check at the start line therefore I won’t have any baggage to claim at the finish line/ I have also opted to take the ferry over to the start at Staten Island as opposed to a bus from mid-town. There is so much information yet to come so I am absorbing what I can and dealing with it as it becomes available.

2 thoughts on “Details, Details, Details

Leave a Reply

