NYC Marathon Lottery – Who’s In?!

TCSNYC

I delayed writing my week’s recap until today to encourage anyone who got into the NYC Marathon via the lottery to comment below. The drawing is today – sound off in the comments section when you get your acceptance or rejection!

#52toNYCmarathon
Week 20/52 Recap
6.52 – 4.3 – 9 LSR

My middle run this past training week was probably the most memorable. I ran 4 miles to have breakfast with my Dad at a local rehab hospital. My Dad is a pretty private man but has now stated that he doesn’t mind if people know so I am finally mentioning something that happened weeks ago. He is recovering from a pretty significant stroke and is in a rehab hospital just up the road from where we live.

Screen Shot 2014-03-26 at 7.30.07 AMThe tricky part for my run there was making certain I was allowed to run past the grounds of the state correctional institution. I called both townships that the road is on plus the state police to make certain that I wasn’t doing anything wrong by running or biking in front of the prison. I was told just not to hitch hike and it would be fine.

The nights at the rehab are really long for Dad so having me show up bright (albeit sweaty) and early helped break up the day. Mom doesn’t make it over until lunch time so a friend to join him at breakfast is pleasant for him as well as me. I stayed until just about the time he finished eating and I hopped a bus home.

Backing up to my first run of the week, it was to be the first time my Bia Sport could record one of my regular routes but the Go Stick DIED WITH 2 MILES TO GO! Granted, this time I got a little message on the screen of the watch warning me to “make it fast, less than 2 hours battery left”. Ok, I knew my route would take about an hour and was resigned to the fact that it might fail. Sure enough, 43 minutes into my run, the battery died.

NOT my watch. This was posted on Bia Sport Facebook page.

NOT my watch. This was posted on Bia Sport Facebook page.

I decided that 5 hours or less battery life on a product that had just bragged on FaceBook (see photo right) about extending the Go Stick battery life to over 19 hours was a real problem. I had a terrible time navigating the trouble shooting and help desk web pages (it wouldn’t let me log in no matter what I did) and finally resorted to a little chat/email function hidden at the bottom of the page.

On Friday, I wrote:

Bia Go Stick battery life
Sent Friday, March, 21, 2014.

I am having a difficult time navigating the zendesk for help so I will use this function. My Go Stick has yet to give me more than 5 hours battery life over a week. I have been ending the runs properly (not pausing as far as I can tell). I thought the first time was because it was in the city but this past time I had barely used it (after fully charging it) and (for the first time) got an alert that I had under 2 hours battery life. It lasted 47 {sic} minutes to total less than four hours usage for the week. I have fully charged it 3 -4 times since I received it. Thanks for your help.

That evening I did get a response:

Hi Terri!
I apologize for the difficulties with Zendesk. It is on our plate to integrate that page’s log-in with your Bia account log-in, and it is coming just as soon as we can make it happen. We are very anxious to turn that page into an interactive forum. In the meantime, this is the perfect place to touch base.

What you are seeing is about right. The GoStick battery right now has no more than 6 hours of workout time, even in the lab, and the max 5 hours you are seeing is probably much more real-world realistic. Some of the reasons for this shorter battery life is that we are currently running everything in the GoStick every on maximum power and we are running a lot of background debugging and diagnostics that are eating up power as well. We are currently doing a lot of in-house testing on low power modes and extended battery life and those tests are looking very good. We should have the 17 hour battery life rolling out within the next 3 or so weeks, and with that, we all will be much freer of those charging cables.

If, however, you see that your GoStick’s battery life/function is degrading significantly, definitely continue to keep us posted–we will want to catch any bugs or hidden battery issues if they come up and fix them.

I hope this helps–please let me know if there is anything else you need.

Thanks and have a great day!
Rebecca

With my current state of recovery running pace the Go Stick battery life would probably not last through the whole NYC Marathon. I am hoping that it gets ironed out soon, I am already getting tired of running with double watches, the Go Stick and my iPod Nano all just to record a run. Understandably, it will be the less reliable gear I leave on my dresser when I finally reach my limit of tolerating extra stuff. My Wal-Mart watch has never left me down and my iPod Nano recorded my first marathon without a hitch. The jury is still out for a few months on whether my Bia Sport or Wal-Mart watch will go to the NYC Marathon on my wrist but the lottery for runners is today!

So… who’s in!? The drawing for the TCS NYC Marathon will take place all day. Runners will be accepted into the race in waves throughout the day, so some runners may find out their status before others. If you are accepted to run this year’s TCS New York City Marathon, here’s what will happen:

• Your credit card will be charged the Marathon entry fee.
• An alert will appear in your MY NYRR account. If you’ve been accepted, the alert in MY NYRR will say, “You have been accepted into the 2014 TCS New York City Marathon.”
• Your registration status for the TCS New York City Marathon will change in MY NYRR. If you’ve been accepted, your registration status will change to “Accepted.”
• You will receive a confirmation email that you have been accepted.

Sign into the comments section below when you know if you are accepted from the lottery or not.A pitiful moment for me 3 years ago, I took my first NYC Marathon lottery rejection with sadness in 2011.

12 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Lottery – Who’s In?!

  1. i’m not entered into the lottery, but i feel your pain re: the bia, the 2nd watch, the nano. the go-stick. i’m tired, too, of having many things on me (2 watches–the bia and garmin–phone, go-stick)

  2. Just found out that I did not get chosen in the lottery drawing. I’ll be in moral, physical, and mental support mode now.

Leave a Reply

