What’s Old is New Again

#52toNYCmarathon
Week 9/52 Recap

3 Hills – 3EZ indoor track – 4.8LSR

4th Runniversary

4th Runniversary

Excerpt from a private journal I had in 2010:

1/4/2010
I found a guideline that might suit my needs, Couch to 5K. It is in line with a goal that I have never dared set for myself but always though it might feel very satisfying to achieve, to run in a 5k race maybe even in Puxsutawney. I will at least be moving toward running 5k and I hope I can keep in mind that even if I fail I am still getting some exercise.

Building back my running base is almost like rediscovering running and this is a great time to reflect on when I started this journey! It was 4 years ago as a New Year’s resolution that I took my first steps on that Couch to 5k program. I was pretty brave to have started it and am pleased to keep battling back from injuries and set backs to have made it 4 years as a runner.

Now, after multiple half marathons, a full marathon, a significant relay race and many shorter races, this year feels a lot like starting over. I don’t think I will be able to even think about PRs but it will be great to actually even walk without pain.

More miles that degrees club is close for me this year!

More miles that degrees club is close for me this year!

My PT has been going ok. This week slammed me hard with a really bad upper respiratory infection. I was probably really stupid for doing so but I ran out in the cold anyway. I am tired of things setting me back and just had to get a 3 miler in on the last day of the year. Struble Hill called and although it was the slowest I have ever run the course, I felt so glad to have accomplished it.

I was coughing hard all the way, shooting snot rockets left and right and tippy-toeing along with less than ideal footing. The ground was super cold and the air at 27° was allowing a light snowfall to start to accumulate. Where cars had compressed it was a bit slick. Jim and I gave a new to us product a test run. They are Rough Hewn’s ice traction slip-ons.RuffHewn

This saved us from having to decide which pair of shoes we would have to put sheet metal screws into as I described making in Snow Studs a few years ago. We just pulled them on over a pair of chosen sneakers and off we went.

We weren’t sure if it was because there were less screws across the bottom or the way that they attached that made us feel our footing was a bit uneven. They did lend good traction up and down hill. At the end, mine had shifted significantly and Jim’s had a bit too. We agreed they are certainly better than nothing and would grade them about a “C”.

So my training is progressing but very slowly. Jim tackled Struble then added on a couple more miles and had no shin pain, he is doing great! I will have built back just enough mileage to be able to participate in the 4th annual Capital 10-Miler and can’t wait for registration to open. I assume we will run it together this year!

Joggler in Training

Joggler in Training

Leave a Reply

