Hurting

#52toNYCmarathon
Week 2/52 Recap

5EZ-4SP-0LSR
moderate strength/core
no x-training

It’s been a week of hobbling around and never really recovering from the strain the added core work Monday put on my glut/back/psoas/piriformis/sciatic.

I just got in from trying to head out the door for a nice 6 miler and have Jim meet me 2 miles in. Exactly like mid-July, I could tell things weren’t going to shake loose. Everything started seizing up in the same way so I didn’t try to push through it like I did that day that I had to turn back after a mile. I turned right around and stopped my watch – an 18 second long run. HA!tree_pan

Between climbing ladders to clean, put up curtains & shelves, and cleaning up the the tree that came down in our back yard, I think my problem area just shouted ENOUGH! I shall live to run another day.

Before removal.

Before removal.

After my clean up!

After my clean up!

The tree in the yard is actually a funny story. It came down last Sunday during a bit of a wind storm we had. It fell in a way that it almost entirely missed the house and only one little spike punctured a shingle on the edge of the porch roof. That beast of an old elm was so heavy, there was no shifting it at all. Even the lightest branches that broke were 30 – 40 pounds.

Monday morning, I was typing up a letter to the landlord when I heard the sound of chain saws. A neighbor was having an old dead tree taken down! Long story short, I was able to get the guys to come over, cut up the tree and take it away before Jim got home for lunch!

Video of him realizing the tree is gone!

5 thoughts on “Hurting

  1. finally got to view the video!!! sorry you are hurting my friend šŸ˜¦ hope you are on the mend soon. I signed up for my first race of 2014…February 23, 2014 in Liverpool, NY It’s called the Lake Effect Half Marathon!! Oh my…what did i get myself into!!1 šŸ™‚ There are around 20 of us doing this together. It sold out fast šŸ™‚ Oh yes…and I am now a member of the NYRR’s!!! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

