Barnes Lane Loop

I do some cross training by taking my mountain bike out for a couple of hours. Last year I took advantage of the newly opened to the public Spring Creek Canyon and biked a big loop through there and back Barnes Lane to home.bike

Decades ago, I remember never wanting to go biking with Jim and Arron for fear of them wanting to do sections like Barnes Lane that has many rolling hills, a couple of them quite significant. Last year I wanted a workout so I tackled the loop but needed to walk up a couple of the worst hills. About a month ago I went back to give that route a try again and was happy to not need to walk at all.

Here I am in the middle of a blue week and I expected to be walking the hills again. I was pretty pleased to have not needed to dismount for the hills at all. I did have to get off to heft my bike over a huge downed tree in the canyon. I knew it would set my total time back but I was taking it easy this ride anyway. Imagine my surprise when it ended up being my fastest time to have ever biked the course. I’m feeling a little badass and living up to what my bike sticker proclaims.

Leave a Reply

