Ultimate Mother Runner Showdown – Contest

UMRS_badge_smOn April Fools Day, I read what I thought was a joke. It seemed too good to be true that Another Mother Runner was holding a contest offering up 22 spots to be had on one of two relay teams for the Ragnar Relay from Cumberland, MD to Washington, DC. Each of the winners would have their entry fee paid for and also receive an unheard of amount of running gear and goodies. Too much good stuff, it had to be a joke.

First story ideas on the back of scrap paper.

First story ideas on the back of scrap paper.

I read on about what was dubbed the Ultimate Mother Runner Showdown headed up by two talented writers/authors/editors. Dimity McDowell and Sarah Bowen Shea, co-authors of Run Like a Mother and Train Like a Mother, were asking for creative entries to tell why I (or anyone entering) would want to join the Ultimate Mother Runner Showdown. They suggested things like making a video; painting a picture; decorating a poster; writing a poem… etc. There was a real deadline and it finally sunk into my head that the contest was legit.

Run Like a Mother was the very first running book I allowed myself to purchase. It gave me confidence to try a race and loads of great tips for running moms (like me!) As the authors compiled real mom information for their second book, I filled out a questionnaire for them and am even quoted a few times in Train Like a Mother. You can tell I am a pretty big fan.

First image roughs, still on scrap paper.

First image roughs, still on scrap paper.

Self timed photo for for panel 1.

Self timed photo for for panel 1.

I tried to think of some super-fun, creative way to show how much I wanted to get on one of their teams. I thought, if I had a friend, I might do a mock podcast episode since they have a weekly show that is in support of moms that run. Alas, I have no running gal pals nearby so I thought of cooking something like a big vegan… whatever. That really sounded dumb and would only reflect my love of eating like my Bacon is NOT and Herb blog already does. A sculpture might take too long but I might have time to draw something in between my final modelling sessions for Penn State’s spring semester figure drawing classes.

Blue pencil sketch for panel 1.

Blue pencil sketch for panel 1.

I decided to bust out my Bristol Board and Micron pens to create a 6 panel comic strip about running! I hoped that the hours that I had spent standing/sitting/reclining for figure drawing classes had allowed the instruction to somehow seep into my brain and empower me to draw myself running in some situation. I also stumbled around with coming up with a brief storyline that would comply with what the contest was asking – tell why I wanted to join one of their teams.

Inking the panels over the pencil roughs.

Inking the panels over the pencil roughs.

Which team would I choose? How could I choose? Both women offer so much energy, wit and knowledge through their writing and podcast. I couldn’t choose Dimity over SBS no matter how dear it was that she thought the mummified mice that Tish Hamilton’s Runner’s World article, Life of a BQ Squeaker, were alive. Both women are too cool so I chose not to choose and made that the theme of my comic.

Color ideas, mostly overlays to echo the logo that I would hand ink.

Color ideas, mostly overlays to echo the logo that I would hand ink.

My biggest anxiety was actually drawing the authors. Comic drawings can morph into unflattering caricatures and I would never be winning anything if I insulted the judges. I didn’t care how goofy the drawings of myself turned out, heck I look goofy and that’s ok. I sweated and agonized over making the figures look as much like the women as I could because they had to be recognizable to anyone judging the contest, including their staff. In the end, I drew myself in 5 panels, designed a thematic logo as a title panel and bravely drew each woman twice each.

The final panel has us all crossing a finish line together, à la Richard Brooks’ 1975 western, Bite the Bullet. I have a compulsion to draw even comics within a framework of realism so the fact that I look over a foot shorter than the other women is an honest rendering. I also drew truthful overzealous enthusiasm on my face; the idea of winning and running in something like this is beyond exciting for me.

I have until June 10th until the judges to decide and I hope they have a lot of great entries to choose from. I can’t imagine what the teams will be like with so much creative energy to see them through the race. Wish me luck!

Competed comic with photos added as background settings.

Competed comic with photos added as background settings.

12 thoughts on “Ultimate Mother Runner Showdown – Contest

  1. This is SO cool!!! I’m many things but an artist is not one of them. Absolutely adore this entry – best of luck!

  2. What a creative entry! You are a true artist and would be a great addition to the Another Mother Runner Ragnar team! Fingers crossed for you!

  3. Pingback: PR to DNF and Great Stuff in Between | See Jain Run

  4. Pingback: Night Gear – Ragnar Relay Prep | See Jain Run

  5. Pingback: Saucony Swag – Ragnar Prep | See Jain Run

  6. Pingback: Regrets and Regards | See Jain Run

Leave a Reply

