Core Work

Where I normally bike. I ran 4 miles of this yesterday. Beautiful!

Where I normally bike. I ran 4 miles of this yesterday. Beautiful!

While Jim has a membership to use the gym facilities at the university, I opt to work out here at home with some hand weights, theraband and chinning bar. I suppose I might also consider a gym membership if I ever decide to train for a triathlon but the mix of yoga-style isolations and exercises I did last year to see me through my marathon will be fine. I do look forward to biking again when the weather moderates.

I log my running and full core workouts on Bia Sport and DailyMile but thought it might be easier just to link out to this post when I want to make reference to the full core workout I have been doing. If I ever make refence to partial or light core, it will be probably about 1/2 of this, usually due to time limitations. It takes me an hour with no breaks to get through this rotation of exercises.
Full Core – 1 hour
toe curls (32 each foot)
thereaband (32 each of 4 angles for each ankle)
full plank (plus sides) 1 min
chin up 1st direction
v-lifts (1 min – front and each side)
step ups with 2 #10 x12
chin up 2nd direction
bird dogs 1 min each side
v- sit hold/pulse, 1 min
tricep dips (with leg variations), 1 min or 15
bridge 1 min
bridge single legs 1 min each
hand weights set 1
superman swim
superman back
hand weights set 2
push ups x15/1 min
sailor sit up with #10 x 10
chin up 1st direction
step ups with #10 x12
lunges with 2 #10 x20
chin up 2nd direction
roll up to toes x20
wall climb x10
planks 1/2 (straight & sides)
bicycle crunches 1 min
thereaband (32 each of 4 angles for each ankle)
toe curls (32 each foot)
Optional additions
split squats
bridge lifts
kickbacks
twisting plank
plank with leg lifts

One thought on “Core Work

Leave a Reply

