Screw Icy Weather

shoescrewsNo really, I mean it! Screw it; 1/4″ sheet metal screws are best if you ask me. Icy weather has me wearing my snow studs or shoe screws again (details here) since Yaktrax didn’t fit my shoes. I see now they have a XS that will, but for $30 a pair I can buy about 200 hex head screws that I use.

I took some time today to replace a few that had gone missing. Funny how they clip-clop along when I hit bare road and I don’t have to worry about wearing through them like Yaktrax can when used on bare pavement.

I am set for the rest of winter. I have tights and long sleeved shirts and all good stuff that will help with the single digits coming my way later this week. I am also going to see if I can still have access to the indoor track. Penn State changed it’s policy last year but I just turned up my old PSU ID so maybe I can run some Yassos tomorrow just for fun. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Screw Icy Weather

  1. I had a neighbor that used this method and swore by it! I just bought Yaktrax for the first time, so I’m going to give them a go. Northeast Ohio has temperatures in the single digits with some below zero wind chill factors. It’s going to be a cold week! Good luck out there!

Leave a Reply

