Up Struble

Red X is where I start from. This view is from Struble.

Red X is where I start from. This view is from Struble. Note the angle of the power lines going into the valley.

Running up Struble Rd. I found myself soon in the icy shade on Nittany Mountain's North side.

Running up Struble Rd. I found myself soon in the icy shade on Nittany Mountain’s north side.


Eleven days after first exploring this route I find myself returning to try to better my time. Unfortunately, I can’t remember if I stopped my watch at the highway cross-walk last time. This time I did but I also brought along my camera to get some photos of the valley from the opposite side from where I live.
This run is just about a 5k and one mile of it is a solid climb up the foot hill of Nittany Mountain. I do love hills and pushing myself up this one is pretty tough for me. I felt fatigued but good with a quick cadence and short stride up Struble Rd.

My time was exactly 2 minutes faster than eleven days ago. Even though I know I pushed harder, it still makes me wonder if I stopped my watch while waiting for the cross-walk.

Running downhill on Struble. The spot where I took the uphill shot is down in the bright sunlight.

Running downhill On Struble. The spot where I took the uphill shot is down in the bright sunlight.

I hope you enjoy the photos. One is going up with the steepest part ahead of me, and the other is coming back looking down the same stretch. I also shot a panorama at one open spot where I could look back to our house. After the sun rose a bit and the haze lifted, I took a final photo of where Struble Rd. ends on Nittany Mountain (red Xs on both spots).

As a final note, this was day 29 of my #RWRunStreak. Almost a month of running at least a mile everyday and I have to say today’s run was a quality one.

The red X shows where I turn around because Struble Rd. ends just after the power lines cross over.

Taken from where I start/end, the red X shows where I turn around because Struble Rd. ends just after the power lines cross over.

6 thoughts on “Up Struble

  1. Wow! Your run is truly different than mine! I come from New England, so you’re making me homesick… except for the hill part. I live in Florida now, where I run on a bike/hike trail that goes through a path covered by palm trees, then out into an open field by a lake, then back into the trees. All flat as a pancake. But so are my races. Except my daughter talked me into coming up to VA for the Marine Corps Half in Fredricksburg in May, and there will be hills there. Sounds like I’ll be doing the treadmill with some inclines to get ready for that!

  2. Pingback: Groundhog Jog | See Jain Run

  3. Pingback: Late Summer 2013 | See Jain Run

  4. Pingback: What’s Old is New Again | See Jain Run

  5. Pingback: Endless Winter | See Jain Run

Leave a Reply

