A Leaf out of My Own Blog

My gear for running and letterboxing.

My gear for running and letterboxing.

Even though today was to be Day 20 of my streak (#RWRunStreak) I awoke feeling rather unmotivated. I have to work this afternoon and that puts a crunch on everything I have to get done. I decided to remember to Keep it Fresh and chose a route that I could nab some new letterboxes along the Bellefonte Rail Trail.

It was a lot of stop and start running, very unlike what I usually do. After I got started I never felt like stopping and even ran an extra little loop so that one fellow wouldn’t see me finding and replacing the letterbox since they are supposed to be hidden from non-participants view.

I made it to the final one and found clues to a bonus box! This actually required me to run a few extra miles to find but I was warmed up and feeling great by that point. Even when I got to the place where I could catch a bus if I wanted, I opted to just keep running home.

I could have logged 1 or 3 or 4 miles but by the time all was done, I had run a total of 8.5 miles. It wasn’t the solid non-stop running like usual and it was a lot slower since I was reading clues and looking for landmarks but it was so much fun! The clues actually took me on a side trail I had never explored and that fed my spirit of adventure. It was just what I needed.

I am so thankful to have been able to do this, runs are limited around here during hunting season so I was glad to log a bunch of great local miles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

